City Announces Winners of Educational Scholarships for 2019


13 December 2018

The LyriK educational scholarship award ceremony was held on Friday 7 December at the Zone Youth Space, where sixteen local youths were awarded scholarships for 2019. ​

The LyriK Educational Scholarship program received 60 nominations this year and the assessment panel had the difficult task of narrowing down the candidates to just 16.

For over a decade through the LyriK Scholarship program, the City and its program sponsors have offered scholarships to assist with financial support as Kwinana’s young people transition through their schooling.

Mayor Carol Adams said, “At the City of Kwinana we value the importance of education, and we continue to provide the youth of Kwinana with the best opportunities possible.”

“The LyriK Educational Scholarship program is a fantastic initiative that not only highlights the exceptional youth in Kwinana but fosters their development to go on and achieve greater success.”

Each year the LyriK Educational Scholarship program gains fantastic support from parents, teachers, community members and most importantly, from the youth of Kwinana.

The LyriK program is a City of Kwinana program, sponsored by Alcoa and Coogee Chemicals.​

Category winners:

Name​​Year Level Entering​​Current School
Jamie Francis​​Year 7 ​Calista Primary
​Anika Tilley​Year 7 ​Orelia Primary
​Natalie Felstead ​Year 7​Makybe Rise Primary School
​Aiyla Awan​Year 7​Bertram Primary School
​Jimmy Stidworthy​Year 11Gilmore College​
​Emily Philippe​Year 11​Kent Street Senior High School
Maxvie Mendoza​​Year 11​​Emmanuel Catholic College
​Lachlan Felstead​Year 11​​John Curtin College of the Arts
​Joshua Figredo​Year 12 ​Kolbe Catholic College
​Hyllyan Lopez​Year 12 ​Peter Carnely Commuity Anglican School
​Emily Felstead​Year 12 ​Perth Modern School
​Mehar Singh​Year 12 ​Perth Modern School
​Leah Walsh​Further Education​Gilmore College
​Tara Thomas ​Further Education​Gilmore College
​Courtney Steyn​Further Education​Peter Carnely Community Anglican School
​Cooper Tilbury​Further Education​Gilmore College
Page reviewed: 13 Dec 2018 8:45pm