Shot Hole Borer

The polyphagous shot-hole borer (PSHB) is now in the Perth Metro area, threatening trees. Report any signs of the Polyphagous Shot Hole Borer here

Close alert

Kwinana Community Awards winners announced

Kwinana Community Awards winners announced
15 March 2024

Award winners across three categories announced for the Kwinana Community Awards.


Caption: Claire Cardew

The City of Kwinana announced the winners of the Kwinana Community Awards, with two individuals and one group recognised across three categories.

Mayor Peter Feasey said the Kwinana Community Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of outstanding Kwinana residents.

Kwinana Community Person of the Year Claire Cardew is a natural leader and passionate about connecting people, he said, highly active in her own neighbourhood through the Wellard Village People Town Team and volunteering at events across the City.

“Claire has volunteered her time through Team Connect at Gilmore College, and events at Halloween and the Lolly Run,” Mayor Feasey said.

“It is an honour to be able to formally recognise her contribution and commitment to our community,” he said.

Vodek Keller was named Kwinana Senior Person of the Year.

“Vodek is a valued member of the community contributing much of his time to making our community a better place to live, work and play,” Mayor Feasey said.

“The Wellard Village People Town Team was named Kwinana Group of the Year, given its core focus is to create spaces that are inviting and comfortable where people can feel at home and gather together to connect, organising events that facilitate connection and taking part in the Wellard Village 7 Day Makeover.

“A highly commended award also went to Kara Smith for her contributions within Kwinana’s bounds,” he said.

The awards for these category winners will be presented in a ceremony or celebration at the winner’s club/organisation with an allowance of $1000 for the event for each winner.

Each category winner also receives a $250 gift voucher, a trophy and certificate, together with a $600 grant for their club/organisation for capacity building or small equipment purchases.

Winners were selected by a Community Awards Selection Panel on 7 March 2024.

Share this page