Kwinana Council enters a new era following election

Kwinana Council enters a new era following election
23 October 2023

The 2023 City of Kwinana Local Government Election, held on Saturday 21 October 2023, received a total of 8,834 votes cast for Mayor which saw Deputy Mayor Peter Feasey chosen by the community to step up and take over the Mayoral reins from Carol Adams.

There were also five councillor positions available which were determined by 9,036 formal votes and saw the positions filled by the re-election of current Councillors Michael James Brown and Sheri Wood and welcomed new Councillors David Acker, Ivy Penny and Erin Sergeant.

Chief Executive Officer Wayne Jack congratulated the new Mayor Peter Feasey and the five successful Councillors and acknowledged their fair and professionally run election campaigns.

“Peter has been a well-known and respected member of the Kwinana community since joining Council in 2007. He was elected to Deputy Mayor in 2013 and has diligently served the Kwinana community under the guidance of Mayor Adams, but last night the community spoke and acknowledged that Peter was the right choice to take over the legacy left by Carol and take Kwinana into the future. 

“Thank you to all the community members who took the time to vote and be a part of this very important democratic process and a big congratulations to all candidates involved in this year’s City of Kwinana Local Government Election. I’m looking forward to working with this new Council to continue to strive to make the City of Kwinana the great place it is.”

“I would also like to take this opportunity to say farewell to outgoing Mayor Carol Adams and retiring Councillor Denis Wood for their dedication and service to the Kwinana community, I wish you all the best of luck with your future endeavours.

This election was conducted via the new voting system of operational preferential voting (OPV), a move away from the previous first-past-the-post voting system of the past. This determined the new Mayor as well as the four, 4-year-term councillor positions and the one 2-year term position available left vacant by the resignation of Mayor Carol Adams. The count spilled over the next day, with the Mayoral vote finalised by the Western Australian Electoral Commission on Sunday, 22 October 2023 and the Councillor vote finalised on Monday, 23 October 2023. 

Following the election, a Special Meeting of Council will be held on Monday, 30 October 2023 which will formally see the new Mayor and Councillors sworn in for their respective terms. 

The total results for the 2023 City of Kwinana Local Government Election were:

Mayoral Vote Results

CandidateNumber of Votes Percentage Expiry Term
Peter Feasey452251.1916 October 2027
Barry Winmar208223.57n/a
Jim Bryson5816.57n/a
Ivy Penny164918.67n/a


Councillor Vote Results

CandidateFirst-preference voteVote at last countExpiry Term
Peter Feasey3,5040n/a
Inger Ward3130n/a
David Acker8001,51016 October 2027
Erin Leahy3350n/a
Peter Hutchinson2400n/a
Michael James Brown6611,36416 October 2027
Jag Chauhan4690n/a
Nasim Salakiani4210n/a
Keith Pomeroy3090n/a
Sheri Wood5931,50916 October 2027
Erin Sergeant5881,24018 October 2025
Ivy Penny 8031,51316 October 2027


The full results can be viewed on the Western Australian Electoral Commission website at


Share this page