Shot Hole Borer

The polyphagous shot-hole borer (PSHB) is now in the Perth Metro area, threatening trees. Report any signs of the Polyphagous Shot Hole Borer here

Close alert

Close Vote Confirms New-Look Kwinana Council

Close Vote Confirms New-Look Kwinana Council
18 October 2021

The 2021 City of Kwinana Local Government Election, held on Saturday 16 October 2021, received a total of 29,787 votes which resulted in the re-election of current Councillors Carol Adams and Matthew Rowse, Kwinana’s first Indigenous Councillor Barry Winmar and new Councillors Susan Kearney and Michael James Brown.

The City’s fifth-seat, a two-year term position, became the hotly contested spot with just one voting deciding the outcome, which was confirmed in the early hours of Sunday morning after a recount of the votes following the close result.

Following the election, a Special Meeting of Council was held on Monday, 18 October 2021 which saw the council re-elect Carol Adams as Mayor and Peter Feasey as Deputy Mayor, for two-year terms.

Chief Executive Officer Wayne Jack congratulated the five successful Councillors and acknowledged their fair and professionally run election campaigns.

“Thank you to all the community members who took the time to vote and be a part of this important democratic process and a big congratulations to all candidates involved in this year’s City of Kwinana Local Government Election. I’m looking forward to working with this new Council to continue to strive to make the City of Kwinana the great place it is,” he said. 

“I would also like to take this opportunity to say farewell to outgoing Councillors Sandra Lee and Merv Kearney as well as retiring Councillor Wendy Cooper for their dedication and service to the Kwinana community, I wish you all the best of luck with your future endeavours."

The total results for the 2021 City of Kwinana Local Government Election were:

CandidateNumber of Votes Percentage Expiry of Term
Carol Adams5,32617.8818 October 2025
Dan Di Stasio1,1093.72 
Djon Shortland6872.31 
Susan Kearney2,9449.8818 October 2025
Matthew Rowse3,23210.8518 October 2025
Chris Duke2,1767.31 
Sandra Lee2,6298.83 
Michael James Brown 2,6308.8318 October 2023
Jacob Solomon2,0376.84 
Merv Kearney2,0666.94 
Ruth Alexander1,8356.16 
Barry Winmar3,11610.4618 October 2025
Total formal votes29,787100% 








The full results can be viewed on the Western Australia Electoral Commission website at  

Image: (l-r) Barry Winmar, Carol Adams, Susan Kearney, Matthew Rowse and Michael James Brown. Image courtesy of Carol Adams Facebook 

Share this page