Extension of Prohibited Burning Period 14 Days City of Kwinana

Due to the ongoing High Threat Bushfire period and seasonal conditions being unfavourable for bushfires, the FES Commissioner has extended the Prohibited Burning Period for additional 14 days for the entire Perth Metro area, including the City of Kwinana. Read the full public notice here.

Close alert

LyriK Scholarships recognise excellence in Kwinana youth

LyriK Scholarships recognise excellence in Kwinana youth
10 December 2020

Sixteen local students were awarded educational grants last week from the City of Kwinana.

The City’s Leadership Youth and Respect in Kwinana (LyriK) Scholarships award funding to local students to help with the cost of educational expenses. Students entering year 7, 11, 12 and further education were all eligible to apply.

The calibre of applications gave the judging panel a tough task, but they eventually whittled it down to the 16 recipients – four in each category with scholarships ranging from $300 to $800.

“At the City of Kwinana, we value the importance of education. We want to provide young people with the best opportunities possible to assist with gaining future employment opportunities as well as a strong sense of self-worth,” said City of Kwinana Mayor Carol Adams in her address at the LyriK ceremony on Friday, 4 December.

“The scholarships not only relieve the burden of some of the financial costs associated with schooling, but they also recognise the hard work and dedication these young people have towards their education. It is wonderful to celebrate these young people and their amazing achievements.”

The City also recognised how tough 2020 has been on the educational system with teachers, parents and pupils having to adapt to new ways of learning.

“It’s been uplifting and inspiring to witness such adaptability by education providers, students and families alike,” said Mayor Adams.

The scholarships were made possible thanks to our sponsors Alcoa and Coogee.

We’d like to congratulate all applicants and recipients of scholarships. The recipients were:

Year 7:

Sasha Du Plessis

Ruby Pereira

Kaytee Bogaers

Kamila Azmizan

Year 11:

Karthik Gopal Subramanian

Caela Trent

Caitlyn Barkla

Liam Walsh

Year 12:

Monique Robinson

Venessa Figredo

Joshua Comben

Grace Laugher

Further Education:

Jasmin Pereira

Micah Walker

Emily Philippe

Anastasia Zekanović

Share this page