Winners of The 2018 LyriK Awards Announced


​​9 July 2018

The LyriK award ceremony was held on Thursday 29 June, with a total of thirteen category winners. This year the LyriK program received over 40 nominations, which is a reflection of the positive and supportive community we have right here in Kwinana. Each year the LyriK Awards gain fantastic support from parents, teachers, community members and most importantly, from the youth of Kwinana.

The award ceremony is attended by nominees, nominators, families, friends and distinguished guests which included the Honourable Mr. Reece Whitby (Member for Baldivis), Mr. Colin Pettit (Commissioner for Children and Young People), Her Worship Mayor Carol Adams, Deputy Mayor Peter Feasey, elected council members and supporters of the LyriK program. Also in attendance were representatives, Des Halstead from Coogee Chemicals and Scott Hansen and Simon Pascoe from Alcoa who are proud sponsors of the LyriK program.

The individual category award winners received a two hundred and fifty dollar incentive to spend on an opportunity of their choosing. Category winners were also given a further fifty dollars to donate towards a charity of their choice. Mayor Carol Adams spoke about how the LyriK Awards highlight "the selflessness and awareness shown by our young nominees, which is an exceptional sign that Kwinana will have strong leaders in the future."

The LyriK Awards have six categories and a great opportunity to acknowledge a positive young person aged 10 to 18 years, making a positive impact on the Kwinana Community. Mayor Carol Adams said "The LyriK Awards is a fantastic program that not only highlights the exceptional youth in Kwinana but fosters their development to go on and achieve greater success."

Category winners are as follows: 

Ch​loe Ruston​Achievement​​
Lewis WippAchievement​​​
​Travis CorkillI​nspiration​
Brayden Kelly​​Inspiration
​Shakaylee Wallam​Leadership
Desmond Franks​​Leadership
Ebonie Cortez​​​Mateship
​Chè Reid​Resp​ect
​Jaxson Maksimovic​Respect
​North Parmelia Primary School Councillors 2018​Teamwork
KIC iWomen Project - Gilmore College​Teamwork​​​​​
Jermaine Pickett​​Progres​s Award
Michellie Jones​Young Person of the Year

Page reviewed: 02 Aug 2018 8:10pm