City Announces Scholarship Winners for 2020


​6 December 2019

The Leadership, Youth, and Respect in Kwinana (LyriK) Educational Scholarships award ceremony, held on Friday, 6 December at the Zone Youth Space, awarded sixteen local youths scholarships for the 2020 school year. 

For over a decade, the City of Kwinana and the LyriK program sponsors Aloca and Coogee Chemicals have offered scholarships, to assist Kwinana’s young people to transition through their schooling. 

Mayor Carol Adams said the City values the importance of education, and the scholarships were about providing the youth of Kwinana with the best opportunities possible. 

“The LyriK Educational Scholarship program is a fantastic initiative that highlights exceptional youth in Kwinana and fosters their development to go on and achieve greater success.” 

“The program received 47 applications this year which an assessment panel had the difficult task of narrowing down to the final 16 candidates,” she said.  

Each year the LyriK Educational Scholarship program gains fantastic support from parents, teachers, community members and most importantly, from the youth of Kwinana. 

The LyriK is a City of Kwinana program, sponsored by Alcoa and Coogee Chemicals.

For more information on the LyriK Program, visit our Youth Services page.​​

2020 Educational Scholarship Recipients:

Entering Year 7 
  • Madeleine Walsh
  • Snow LI
  • Ava Cuffe-Hodges
  • Joel Barwise
Entering Year 11 
  • Venessa Figredo
  • Sara Goricanec
  • Joshua Comben
  • Katrina De Oro
Entering Year 12 
  • Emily Phillipe
  • Shaun Pereyra
  • Kaitlyn Stott
  • Jimmy Stidworthy​
Continuing on to Further Education 
  • Emily Felstead
  • Chantelle Carr
  • Kai Best
  • Joshua Figredo
Page reviewed: 09 Dec 2019 5:08pm