Restricted Burning Period City of Kwinana

The Restricted Burning Period is now in place, permits may be issued by contacting Rangers on 9439 0200.

Close alert

Celebrating young leaders in the community

Celebrating young leaders in the community
15 April 2021

LyriK Awards open to showcase the contributions of young people in Kwinana.

Nominations for the City of Kwinana’s Leadership Youth and Respect in Kwinana (LyriK) Awards are now open with cash prizes on offer.

The Awards offer six categories to recognise the valuable contributions of young people aged 10 to 18 years who live or attend school in the City of Kwinana.

Award categories include Achievement, Leadership, Inspiration, Respect, Mateship and Teamwork.

Any member of the community can nominate a young person and the Awards are split into two age groups (10 to 14 years, and 15 to 18 years).

Winners receive a $250 prize to be spent on a youth development opportunity, and a $50 donation to a charity from a shortlist of well-known organisations.

Nominations are assessed by a panel and all nominees are also eligible for the Progress Award and the Young Person of the Year Award. The winner of the Progress Award receives a further $250 cash prize and the Young Person of the Year receives a $500 cash prize plus a $50 donation to a shortlisted charity.

Mayor Carol Adams said the LyriK program began in 2006 with the aim of recognising and celebrating the positive achievement of youth in our community.

“As part of this ethos, we have seen the building of resilience, leadership, personal development, community impact and involvement among young people who have nominated for this prestigious award,” Mayor Adams said.

For more information on the award categories and to lodge a nomination, visit Lyrik youth award program

Nominations close Sunday, 9 May. Nominees and Award recipients are publicly recognised at the Awards Ceremony on 16 June 2021.

The LyriK Awards are supported by the City of Kwinana, Alcoa and Coogee.

Photo: City of Kwinana Mayor Carol Adams with LyriK Award 2019 winners.

Share this page